Crock Pot Steak

Standard

So I really kick myself when we dig into a meal without taking a picture of the plate. How can I brag about our latest yummy meal with  nothing to show for it? When here are the dregs of what is left in a dirty crock pot .. haha..

What we had was a sirloin steak that I wanted to cook in the crock pot. Pulling inspiration from the Savory Saucy Round Steak  I put the crock pot:

  • 1.5 lbs. round steak – the whole big peice
  • 2 to 3 tbsp. margarine
  • 2 med. onions, quartered & sliced about 1/4″
  • 1 1/2 c. apple juice
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 cloves garlic chopped
  • 1 tsp. brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1 Tbs. apple cider vinegar
  • a chopped up sweet potato
  • 1/2 a bundle of kale that I had left over from the other night

So I just threw it all together and cooked on high for 3 hours. When it looked done (Yes, I just cut the steak in half to see its insides and eat a bite and ate a potato wedge), I made up a instant batch of Parmesan Couscous to have on the side and bake a few dinner rolls and wala! Easy dinner meal!

 

So the dinner rolls we baked were Anna Mae Sweet Potato & Molasses Rolls. To be honest I wasn’t sure what they were when I saw them on sale. They are delicious, but the tastes are much more subtle then I expected. We actually tried the rolls with different toppings, the first round was honey butter, then cinnamon butter and the finale was fig jam, which was my favorite. The website that sells the rolls is no longer up so I wonder whats going on with the company – is that why they were on sale? Anyway if you happen across a bag, give it a try!

Leave a Reply

