Blog: Health Update

Standard

I apologize for the radio silence. I aim to update this blog once a day, but when I fall back I feel its important to talk about my personal life so you know why I’m missing.

Monday I gave blood, or at least I tried to. I donate every 2 months, a good habit I developed with my old room mate. She was always getting calls to donate because she had a rare and valuable blood type. We refereed to the Red Cross as the “vampires” because they called us all the time. But I actually enjoy doing it. I feel like it’s my way to give back. I go to the Cape Fear Chapter on 1102 South 16th Street, Wilmington, NC. (910) 762-9663

You can walk in anytime: Monday 12:00pm – 6:00pm, Wednesday 12:00pm – 6:00pm or Friday  8:00am – 2:00pm

Or Call 1-800-733 2767

The 1-800 number will take you to a live person who will tell you about upcoming blood drives in your community or help schedule an appointment at your closest Chapter. I highly recommend you give donating a try.

Anyway this time, I couldn’t because my iron was too low. This has never happen before, but I haven’t been eating a ton of meat so now I have a new focus on my nutrition. I have to wait 2 months before trying again, but hopefully this won’t be a reoccurring issue (my mom has iron issues with her own donating). That gave me a sheet of paper encouraging me to eat liver, beef, pork, chicken, fish and more beans. I’m not a fan of fish and pork – so wish me luck! My iron was only .1 away from the minimum requirement so I’m not too worried.

On Tuesday, I had a dentist appointment at Bush Family Dentistry at 1717 Shipyard Boulevard. (910) 313-1511 I’m really super glad I went.

Their office is very clean and everybody was very friendly. My hygienist, Rebecca listened to my concerns and gave thoughtful answers. I guess when it comes to my teeth, I’m a bit of a hypochondriac. My two front teeth are fake because as a kid I rode my bike into a car and hit the dashboard. So my mouth is a bit sensitive and I’m always afraid of cavities. gingivitis, grinding my teeth, ect. I hadn’t had a teeth cleaning in a year and a half and if you’d asked me Tuesday morning I was convinced I had at least one serious cavity that might require a root canal or pulling it altogether. THANKFULLY this isn’t’ the case at all. Dr Bush was very kind, reassuring and proposed treatment for my one small problem area in a cost effective way. He wasn’t trying to steal my money. I’d be happy to recommend anyone there and give it my full endorsement.

I hope that tomorrow I’m back on track with updates. Sorry I’ve been distracted with appointments (and a crazy week at work!).

Leave a Reply

